Cat’s Cradle (Part Two)/Why I’ve Given up on Vonnegut

Kurt Vonnegut, I really wanted to like you. I read Player Piano and just became confused. I decided to give you a second chance so I read Slaughterhouse-Five which just left me feeling dazed and lost, like a kid who can’t find their mom in the grocery store- you left me panicked and confused, Kurt! But I am a woman of forgiveness so I let you have one last shot to woo me. And what do you know, you have left me down again. Kurt Vonnegut, I haven’t even finished reading Cat’s Cradle but I know that it will leave me with the same feeling that your previous books have given me. You may beg on your knees for another chance but I am not going to go back. You have disappointed me and I don’t think this relationship between us is going anyway. In short, I’m moving on to bigger and better things. I know it hurts to hear this and you might be thinking I could’ve given you another chance, you could of tried harder. I’m sure the toughest thing to hear right now would be the truth: it’s not me, it’s you. You like violence too much and you’re sarcasm is hard for me to decipher (only because I’m severely gullible). I will finish your book, and I will take the time to read the pages carefully, but I won’t be the one missing out, Kurt Vonnegut. I tried so hard to love you and you have let me down.

Leave a Reply

