Books v. E-Readers

Disclaimer: my post may be sort of biased since I am much more comfortable with a physical book. However, I did not make this post to put down e-readers so bear with me!

Some of you are like me: you have to hold a book in your hand to feel connected to the story. To me, an e-reader provides so much distractions and for some reason, I just find it hard to understand what I’m reading. Whereas with a book, you are able to go back to certain pages to reread something again. Personally, I think with e-readers that is harder. However, the allure of e-readers has peaked my interest and I thought I would make this post to deliver my pros and cons of books and e-readers.

Books- to me, a book is one of the most magical things and I cannot get enough of them. I don’t really read for the experiences people get from losing themselves in a book. I read to compete with myself, in a way. I have to read as many as I possibly can in an allotted amount of time and if the number of books I read increase, I feel better about my speed reading ability. However, some books are quite large and take a long time to read when you add the stresses and responsibilities of life. Books can kind of add up as well, considering mass and money. Books can be quite large, and consequently heavy. Take my AP Art History book for example- it is almost a foot long, over nine inches wide, two inches thick, with 1,088 pages. If you can picture this in your head, you are probably overwhelmed. But never fear! I get to keep the book at home. Books can be a heavy burden-literally. They can be pretty expensive, for example I purchased I Am Malala for $26 at Barnes and Noble. However, the lasting impact of the book usually outweighs it’s monetary value. They also need good lighting to even be able to read them. However, books can be written in and carried around and shared and felt. You can never get the experience of holding a book in your hands anywhere else, it is just a personal connection.

E-readers and I have had mixed feelings towards each other. I am not ‘techy’ therefore figuring my way around an e-reader like a Kindle or a Nook can be challenging and this part of my post will not be very credible since I have never gotten my hands on one for an extended period of time. I also get very distracted when using things like e-readers. When using iBooks on my iPhone, I find it difficult to ignore every text message or twitter notification. Anyways, e-readers are light and easy to carry around and it will always weigh the same no matter how many books you download.  This is great for avid readers who don’t feel like carrying around tons of books. However, an e-reader can cost a fortune. I recently saw a commercial for the Kindle Fire where it cost $397. Now I do understand that authors make their commission from people purchasing books on e-readers but if you’re already paying almost $400 for an electronic to read books on, why would you want to pay more money every time you want to read a book? In my opinion, this would make me really cautious about purchasing a book. E-readers also condense books, making the page count smaller. E-readers have also advanced over the years, with brighter screens or ones that you can reader without the nasty glare from light sources. Overall, books and e-readers can have the same impact on a person and ultimately prove that it doesn’t depend on the form, it depends on the story.

2 thoughts on “Books v. E-Readers”

Leave a Reply

