Reading in School

Personally, my favorite time of the day in elementary school was silent reading. Most kids liked recess or lunch, but I liked reading. I have always been an avid reader and this time was good to satiate my hunger for books. Nowadays, I have little to no time to read and this makes me sad. Having this blog does give me some leeway when it comes to reading but sometimes I don’t even have time to read a whole book for my posts so I just write about one I have already read, which makes me feel like I’m cheating. With my tremendous amount of homework, itΒ is hard to have any alone time to do whatever I want.Β It would be nice to have time set aside in school where I could read and it would really help enhance my blog, I think. I believe that silent reading should be a requirement in all Language Arts classes. However, most kids my age hate reading and would not be too happy about this. Things were so much simpler when we were little and even though most teens don’t want silent reading time back, I know for a fact that they miss taking naps. Studies show that reading really helps the mind become more creative and knowledgeable. I don’t think I’ve read one book that hasn’t taught me something. This is my opinion and you don’t have to agree but I would love to know what you think. Having no time for reading makes my list of over 250 books and counting seem very ominous and daunting, and reading shouldn’t be like that. I want to get back to the enjoyment of it and eventually read all of those books, I just need time to do it. How do you all make time to read with hectic, busy lives?

17 thoughts on “Reading in School”

  1. I remember not having time to read for pleasure when I was a student– too much required reading. Now, years later, I’m making up for it by working in a library, writing books, and listening to lots of audiobooks. And of course, reading books, too. Your day will come!

  2. I know exactly what you mean! Time to read at school is so important and I think more people would get into reading if they had to read at least a little bit each day. At university, there’s more time for me to read, but there’s also so much that I have to read for my course that it doesn’t always feel like it! Also, I’ve just stumbled upon your blog and I’m really enjoying it, so keep up the great work! πŸ™‚

    1. The list is in no particular order, but right now I’m in between books, I’m thinking of starting An Abundance of Katherines by John Green or Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins πŸ™‚

      1. Actually I really like classic novels but at the moment I have been reading quite a few YAs because I work at a movie theater and that is all they seem to be making movies about πŸ˜›

      2. True. I’m waiting for someone to take some of Hemingway or Faulkner’s works and turn them into movies. That’s cool you work for a movie theater though. I’ve been reading through some of your other posts. You have a very nice blog!

      3. Haha I was very excited when The Great Gatsby came out, I absolutely love F. Scott Fitzgerald πŸ™‚ Thank you so much! It is an ongoing school project for my AP Language and Composition class but I plan on continuing it after the school year

      4. So what was your verdict of the film? I enjoy Fitzgerald as well. Have you read This Side of Paradise? I loved that more than The Great Gatsby actually. And you really should continue on blogging. It’s hard to find your voice when you write, but when you do, you can create pure magic.

      5. I thought the way he shot the film was breathtaking. It literally had me on the edge of my seat the entire film. Tender Is the Night is on my list, but I doubt I get to it this year. I went a little book crazy last year so this year I have decided to focus on my writing and cut back on the reading.

Leave a Reply

